Looking for a treat.

I belong to many Paleo sites as probably you do too. Sometimes there’s a recipe that really hits the spot and you just have to make because the picture looks so good or it just simply sounds good. The recipe I’m referring to is from the website the Civilized Caveman [http://civilizedcavemancooking.com/foodslideshow/apple-pie-lara-bars/]. The name of the recipe is Apple Pie Caveman bars. This looks so good I couldn’t stop thinking about it all day. I finally make it to the grocery store I start hitting some problems with the ingredients.

It calls for 2 cups of dates, the only dates I found were in 10 oz containers leaving me 6 oz short and at 6.99 a pop, I wasn’t about to buy 2 containers.

It calls for a 1/2 cup of raw Macadamia nuts and 1/4 cup of raw almonds. The closest thing to raw I could find was blanched. In case you were wondering, cooking with raw, blanched and roasted nuts makes a difference in the texture of the mix. Also 10 oz of macadamia nuts are 8.99 a container and another 4.99 for the blanched almonds which may or may not work.

Next I couldn’t find a large bag of dried apples if my life depended on it. Bags I found were snack bag only .75 of an ounce, this called for 1/2 of cup which would require that I buy 6 of the container at 1.89 a piece. That meant I was going to spend over $30.00 on these bars which may or may not work due to me not finding raw nuts.

So needless to say, I didn’t make them and I’m still craving them, anyone who wants to make the recipe and send me a bar to taste reply please. [just joking].

So I made the next best thing. I think. Cranberry, chocolate, vanilla bars.

You can add nuts, substitute the cranberry for dried cherries or raisins, use your imagination and have fun with it. You can find the recipe in the recipe of the section of my blog.

Happy eating.

Leave a Reply

