6/28/2012 weight loss: 9 lbs

In May of this year my family and I went to California for a week, I really had a great time and didn’t want to leave.  We went to LA and ate at a dude ranch, excellent food, and it had a mechanical bull.  Of course my husband encouraged me to ride the bull and of course, I was the first one of 10 at the table [the only female might I add] to have the guts to go do it.

My husband video taped it and when I saw the video I was mortified.  I didn’t know who was the bull and who was me.  Right there and then I knew I had to lose weight.  I know I’m 50 lbs overweight but as long as I don’t look in the mirror below my neck I don’t have to admit that I’m 50 lbs overweight.

Anyway, I rode the bull and was the only one to ride it to the end, stay up on it for 42 seconds!  Whoot to me.  When I came home I decided to do Paelo.  I did a Paelo challenge once for 30 days and lost like 15 lbs, I really don’t know why I stopped doing it, maybe it’s the pressure of the family.  Seeing the kids slobbering down French fries smothered in gravy, making pasta for them, mac n cheese, ummm… dare I say more?

Any way its now a few weeks after the above story was initially written and I’ve lost 9 lbs.  I’ve stalled and I’m so discouraged.  I don’t know what to do to jump start again.  I’ve really not been eating sugar or carbs.  Trust me, I have them very very sparingly, so I don’t understand.  I’m getting upset.  I’ve cut my calories in half, I’ve stopped the soda, I have a TON more energy, in the last two days I’ve mowed two property lawns, weedeated, emptied and manhandled the kids pool, cut down trees, cut back weeds as large as me and nothing, no weight loss!

I do feel cheated, especially when I see no movement on the scale.  I feel like crying while I type this blog.  However, I did get my period yesterday so this is prob indicative of my cycle.

2 thoughts on “6/28/2012 weight loss: 9 lbs

  1. You can’t let the number on the scale rule you–if you have a ton more energy and felt like you got more done than you would otherwise, that’s still a victory. 🙂 Besides, I always gain 3-4 lbs. before my period out of the blue only to have it disappear in a day or two, so I wouldn’t worry about it too much.

    However, if you find you’re struggling to reconcile what the rest of your family is eating with what you’re eating, you may want to look not just at what you eat, but why you eat. Tony Robbins explains that a need for comfort and certainty is one of our basic human needs–so if you go home and know you can dissolve whatever issues you had during the day through eating, the need is met. However, we can get caught in an unhealthy cycle where we know what we’re doing isn’t helpful for weight loss, but keep doing it out of want for that comfort. Take a look at this video: http://bit.ly/MgbN9w It does a great job explaining our different needs and how those sorts of habits develop–and more importantly, how to stop the difference between what we know we should do and what we end up doing.

    • Thank you so much for your comment it is so encouraging I hope you keep checking out my blog I’m going to set up some challenges to keep it interesting and fun. Please feel free to recommend my blog to others because challenges are no fun without lots of participants !

Leave a Reply

